I blink and he’s 17!

I don’t even know how it can be possible. It seems like just yesterday I was giving him piggy back rides and putting Power Ranger band aids on both his real and imaginary injuries. My mom warned me this would happen. She told me it would go by this fast, but I didn’t really believe it.  Now here I am, looking up into the face of this 6’2″ person who use to fit perfectly into my arms.

This boy makes me proud. He’s smart, rational, and determined. He’s absolutely beautiful.. inside and out. He has a wicked sense of humor…. perfectly sarcastic, yet knows how to not offend. He’s charming and responsible. He is an amazing big brother and a loving son. He makes mistakes, but he ALWAYS learns from them. He knows how to love. Of all his many qualities, this is the one I’m most proud of. He knows how to show his love.

Derek lights up a room… where ever he is there is light… and laughter.

It seems like just yesterday I was pacing the nursery with him, rocking him back to sleep… and blink… he’s 17.

This photo was taken when Derek was 6. It’s my favorite picture of me and my boys. We had so much fun together that day, this photo reminds me of the love, laughter and special times I’ve had with my boys. I miss them this age. I miss those baby teeth smiles.

Derek is the one on my back. Drew is in front of me.. he’s 15 now.

Twitter avatar 21

DSC_0025b

_DSC1675B